Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

"Mixtape Mondays"

by Eric on May 28, 2007

The Nervous Mixtape: Ghetto Classics-Mixed By DJ Mister Cee

Yet another one of my recent Amazon purchases that is gonna’ be Mike Dikk’s by the end of the week (there in the mail as we speak bro!). I had initially picked this up on cassette the same day that I picked up Cash Money’s mixtape “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner?” (see last Monday’s post) along with D’angelo’s “Me & Those Dreamin’ Eyes” “Cas-single” (that had the Erick Sermon remix on it with an added verse by Redman) back in the summer of 1995. Anyway, I’ve always been a big fan of anything Nervous put out as far as Hip Hop is concerned (not many cats know that they were primarily an Electronica/Dance/House label), let’s see…you had Black Moon, Mad Lion & let’s not forget Smif N Wessun carrying the baton for this underground label. This mixtape hosted by Mister Cee (of The Flipsquad fame) is no different than the quality you received from the aforementioned artists listed above, as it will most definitely take you back to 1995. I mean, there are so many classics to be found on this have Smif-N-Wessun’s remix of “Wreckonize” (probably up there amongst the “Flava’ In Ya Ear’s” and “One More Chance’s (the remix with the “Droppin’ Science” jack) as far as remixes are concerned in my book. You also have the Funk Flex assembled cast of Charlie Brown, The Biz & Ol’ Dirty Bastard (what a combination!) on the forgetten gem “Nuttin’ But Flavor” & what alot of folks have surely never heard the Brenda K. Starr remix of Mad Lion’s “Double Trouble”, which one ups the original in my opinion. I posted a similar Nervous Mixtape back around the origin of this site (do a search for Nervous), but it really featured more Black Moon drops, whereas this mixtape finds them only making one appearance (“Headz Ain’t Ready” Remix). Nevertheless, as I mentioned before be prepared to take it back to 1995 with this appropriately titled mixtape…-Eric

Track Listing

1 Intro

2 Black Moon / Smif-N-Wessun Headz Ain’t Ready (Beatminerz Remix)
Producer – Da Beatminerz

3 Strickly Roots Brothers Die’n Everyday
Producer – DJ Fashion

4 Funkmaster Flex & The Ghetto Celebs Nuttin’ But Flavor
Producer – Funkmaster Flex
Rap – Biz Markie , Charlie Brown , Ol’ Dirty Bastard

5 Mad Lion Own Destiny
Producer – KRS-One

6 Lady Apache Rock And Comeen (Night Time Remix)
Producer – Evil Dee

7 Smif-N-Wessun Sound Bwoy Bureill (Re-Edit / Remix)
Producer – Mr. Walt

8 Broadway Enjoy Yourself
Producer – Diamond D

9 Mad Lion Double Trouble
Producer – KRS-One
Vocals [Additional] – Brenda K. Starr

10 Rusty Killa Productions Reality Check
Co-producer – Kenny Dope*
Producer – Shazam X

11 Broadway Must Stay Paid
Producer – KRS-One

12 Smif-N-Wessun Wrekonize (Remix)
Producer – Steele (2)

13 Funkmaster Flex & The Ghetto Celebs Safe Sex, No Freaks
Producer – Funkmaster Flex
Rap – Mad Lion , Rayvon , Ricksta

14 Mad Lion Real Ting (KRS-One Remix)
Producer – KRS-One

15 Smif-N-Wessun Wontime
Producer – Mr. Walt , Rich Blak

16 Mad Lion Double Trouble (Third World Mix)
Producer – KRS-One
Rap [Featuring] – KRS-One

17 Smif-N-Wessun Strand Strong
Producer – Evil Dee

18 Crooklyn Clan Funky Relaxation (Dubtown Mix)
Producer – DJ Riz , DJ Sizzahandz

Masterpiece 01-Mixed By Pete Rock

Yet another one of the numerous albums that have ended up on my hard drive and I couldn’t begin to tell you how I came across it originally. “Masterpiece 01″ along with “Masterpiece 03-Mixed By Lord Finesse” (which I posted last Monday) are both Japan only releases from the Handcuts Records imprint..which I know absolutely nothing about. As far as this mixtape handled by Pete Rock is concerned, it’s not one of my favorites being that there is really no flow to the overall mix that the “Soul Brother #1″ has pieced together. Not to say that it’s a bad thing whatsoever, it’s just that tracks like the opener (Mandrill’s “Fencewalk”) seem a little out of place setting the pace for the likes of The Roots “Panic!”. The same case can also be made for The Peech Boys “Dance Sister” blending into Common’s “Go”. Still, P.R. does get major props for highlighting some of my favorite “overlooked” classics within the mix i.e, Cru’s “Bubblin” & O.C.’s “Far From Yours”. Pete also drops the Tom Scott classic “Today” which has been a major sample for some of your favorite artists. I’m sure you’ll get the same feeling as I did upon first listen when Pete drops The Lost Boyz’ “Jeep, Lex Coupes…” and leads you smack into “Freeway & Allen Anthony’s “Alright” (WTF??). While not quite as long track-wise as the Finesse “Masterpiece” I posted earlier, Pete Rock’s “Masterpiece 01″ still contains more than a few classics with decent blends that will surely make for an enjoyable listen on any road trip…-Eric

Track Listing

1 Mandrill /Fencewalk

2 The Roots/Panic !!!!!!

3 Peech Boys/Dance Sister (Biofeedback)

4 Common/Go!

5 Tom Scott/Today

6 L.L. Cool J/Mama Said Knock You Out

7 Redman/Can’t Wait

8 Parliament/Funkentelechy

9 Cru/Bubblin’

10 Showbiz & A.G./Next Level

11 Ghostface Killah/Be Easy

12 Lost Boyz/Jeeps, Lex Coups, Bimaz & Benz

13 Freeway feat. Allen Anthony/Alright

14 Black Sheep/Flavor Of The Month

15 Group Home/Supa Star

16 Rakim/The Saga Begins

17 The Jackson 5/I’ll Bet You

18 O.C. feat. Yvette Michele/Far From Your

19 Pete Rock/Revenge

20 Pete Rock feat.Vanessa Sanchez/I Had To Say

21 Pete Rock feat.Slum Village/Gansta Boogie

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Dan Love May 28, 2007 at 10:09 pm

Thanks for this Eric, looking forward to it.

Trav, was right – you’re putting everyone else to shame at the moment, particularly with my pitiful performance over the last week.

Take it easy fella,


G June 2, 2007 at 1:45 am

goddamn that nervous tape is ridiculous! That’s definitely taking it back, Mad Lion, Smif N Wessun, Broadway (whatever happened to him?), Nuttin But Flavor

damn, i’m loving this album. Remember when Mad Lion was part of boogie down productions?

Comments on this entry are closed.