Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

W.T.R. Presents-"Kwest Tha Madd Lad" Day (artist appreciation)

by Eric on November 23, 2007

This Is My First Album”-Kwest Tha Madd Lad”

Kwest’s first and only “official” release “This Is My First Album” resonated with testosterone-fueled humor and equally bouncy beats that served as a fun-filled and cohesive listen.  Splattered throughout with plenty of bodily fluids, Kwest’s “This Is….” came correct (pun intended) and was best summed up by the Pete Rock vocal sample “Got a setup so smooth, they should call me lubrication” on the song titled….what else but….”Lubrication”.  The album’s first single “101 Things To Do While I’m With Your Girl” was a perfect representation of Kwest’s clever, sex-filled steelo, and the topics of lust occupied over half of the album.  Making you double over in stitches from laughing so hard while forcing you to nod your head uncontrollably at the same time was Kwest forte, and he did it with the least amount of effort.  Always proving that he “doesn’t give a F*ck, Kwest busted out tales of illicit escapades with an underage skimy that ended with him on lock down with the hilarious and politically incorrect “Butt A Few-Co”.  But don’t be fooled, Kwest was all about styles upon styles, and he truly ripped iddish’ on the “Blase Blah” which was soo fat it had you shaking your head in amazement (at least, I know I did) as Kwest went line for line straight off the dome piece.  Plus, Kwest got freaky or ill for the hell of it (see “Disk Or Dat” and “Damn”), as well telling visually stimulating stories that contain a fair amount of substance (see “Herman’s Head” or “Bludawnmeyesneekuhz” which was about killin’ over sneakers).  In my opinion, “This Is My First….” highlight came in the form of “I Met My Baby At The VIM” which had the potential to do for the New York sports outlet as what Biz did for Albee Square Mall.  On “VIM..” Kwest pulled off a sentimentally-sappy tune so corny that it was fly.  The song kept you guessing as to whether to take Kwest seriously or not, which was a surefire sign of a talented emcee no doubt.  Not bad for a “First Album” I’d say, and in celebration of this forgotten masterpiece I’ve upped Kwest recently released compilation of “Unreleased” gems that I got in the mail today.  I honestly haven’t even listened to it yet, so drop a comment and hit me off with some of your initial impressions….-Eric

“These Are My Unreleased Recordings”-Kwest Tha Madd Lad

Taken from Underground Hip’s item summary:  “In a response to a Hip Hop “Where Are They Now?” question, Queens lyricist, Kwest Tha Mad Ladd finally resurfaces. Connecting with No Sleep Recordings, Kwest is releasing to the world all the joints that did not make his first album. Originally signed in 1992 to Rick Rubin’s American Recordings after a strong showing in The New Music Seminar and other NYC emcee battles, Kwest was slated to release his “This Is My First Album” LP in 1994. Due to label delays, the LP (which was completed in 1994) was not released until 1996; and then with poor promotion and limited distribution. Still, the album produced the underground classics “Lubrication” and “101 Things To Do With Your Girl”. Dismayed at his experience on a major label, Kwest opted out of his record deal and has hardly recorded since. According to Kwest, during his stay on American Recordings, he recorded over 50 songs, many of which were not present on his debut. “This Is My First Album” has since become regarded as a sleeper Hip Hop classic by many enthusiasts. With his combination of humor, storytelling ability, and remarkable freestyle talents; many now view Kwest Tha Madd Lad as an incredible talent that was never allowed reached his full potential. Seldom seen or heard from, Kwest’s current whereabouts have been in discussion on many a Hip-Hop message board. However, through a twist of fate, Kwest reconnected with his old A&R man, Dan Charnas, who produced a good part of “This Is My First Album”. Dan provided Kwest with the masters of many of the unreleased sessions from the American projects. Kwest says that these tracks represented some of the diversity that wasn’t present on the debut. “More battle raps, stories, and concepts”, states Kwest. “The label wanted to stay with the sex topics, but I had other material too”. These recordings are an addendum to the first LP and they complete the story of a project that Hip Hop purists today regard as creatively genius. Featuring production by L.A. Jay (The Pharcyde), Tony D (of Poor Righteous Teachers fame), Fat Jack (Project Blowed) and others; this is vintage mid-Nineties Hip Hop at its best…”

Track Listing

1. “Kwest Gets His Rock Off”
2. “A.M. to P.M.”
3. “What’s The Reaction” (Remix)
4. “I Ain’t A Herb”
5. “Mr. All That”
6. “Off The Head Pt. I”
7. “Why Me?”
8. “Blase Blah” (Remix)
9. “Check It”
10. “The Flavatism”
11. “Anastasia”
12. “Off The Head Pt. II”
13. “Tales From The Southside”
14. “Word Is Bond”
15. “Nastee Ni*ga”
16. “Anatomy Of An Ass Whoopin”
17. “Bonus Track”

Related Posts with Thumbnails


trife_life November 24, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Yo Eric, way to shine some light on Kwest as I think he was definitely underrated. It’s funny cause I listened to “This is My First Album” the other day for the first time after it has been collecting dust in my hard drive for a long time. I can’t believe I slept on this cat for so long. I haven’t checked out “These Are My…” but I’ll definitely peep it this weekend thanks to you. Peace

Animal Mother November 26, 2007 at 9:47 am

101 Things… is one of my favorite joints! While you work at Mickey D’s your girl is workin’ on DEEZ(“like this that and this and a”)

Kwest(yes me,Kwest) December 20, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Thank you,but can you tell your readers to go out and cop it??? lol

Kaz February 21, 2008 at 9:03 pm

Props man. This was much needed.

TurnStylez April 15, 2008 at 6:09 am

Go buy the album if you praise it so much and show the artists some support…they starvin’ in these hard times, nobody is buyin jack…

Comments on this entry are closed.