Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

"WTR meets WYDU" presents: The 1994 "Fat Tape" post Pt. II

by Eric on March 11, 2008

Whaddup peoples? Man, I know, it’s been a minute. The Wifey and I are actually looking at moving closer to PA since she is finishing up with the Air Force in June and there’s really nothing keeping us here in Little Rock, so needless to say the site’s been put on the back-burner the last few weeks as we look at our options. Plus, it’s March Madness and my squad (Villanova) is fighting and clawing for a tourney spot. I guess tomorrow’s showdown in the Big East tourney versus the ‘Cuse will be their true test to get off “the bubble”. However, I am compiling tracks for as many of these “Fat Tapes” as I can, but I still need your help tracking down a few tracks from some of the issues. If you are kind enough to up a link in the comments for the “missing” pieces, it’s greatly appreciated. There’s not many left, but here are the select few that I’m still searchin’ for:

1. “Da Bounce Master”-Doo Wop
2. “Barry’s Blues”-Mighty Maestro
3. “Come To Butt-Head”-Positive K f. Beavis & Butt-Head
4. “Come Off Hard”-Mr. Voodoo (I can recall this track being EXTREMELY sick!)
5. “Brothas & Sistas”-Jayo Felony (from Jason’s Lyric O.S.T.)

Oh, and a big thanks to Jaz @ Cold Rock Da Spot for his helping hand as well!!

The Source (August ’94) “Fat Tape”

Track Listing

1. “I Get Physical”-Pete Rock & CL Smooth
2. “I Used To Love H.E.R.”-Common Sense
3. “Distortion To The Static”-The Roots
4. “Hit Me With That”-The Beatnuts
5. “Shook Ones Pt. I”-Mobb Deep
6. “Shit’s Real”-Mic Geronimo
7. “1-800-Suicide”-Gravediggaz
8. “Big Box Of Blunts”-Mad Lion
9. “Stress (Large Pro Remix)”-Organized Konfusion
10. “Mental Stamina”-Jeru The Damaja
11. “The B-Side”-Masta Ace f. Paula Perry
12. “Do You See”-Warren G
13. “All For The Money”-MC Eiht f. CMW
14. “Time’s Up (Remix)”-O.C.
15. “Buck Em’ Down (Remix)”-Black Moon
16. “Breakfast @ Denny’s”-Buckshot LeFonque

Editor’s Note:  The real “gem” on this Fat Tape is “Breakfast @ Denny’s”, even though the track was labeled in this issue of The Source as “Buckshot LeFonque” by…of course…the groupof the same name.  This Fat Tape also featured the verse of the year from ’94 via Jeru’s “Mental Stamina”.

The Source (Oct. ’94) “Fat Tape”

Track Listing

1. “Hit Me With That”-The Beatnuts
2. “Playa Playa”-Big Mike
3. “Sub Crazy”-Method Man
4. “Let’s Organize”-Organized Konfusion
5. “Escapism”-Keith Murray
6. “Give Up The Goods” (Just Step)-Mobb Deep
7. “Murder MC’s”-Black Moon
8. “Summertime” (Al’s Solo)-Ill Al Skratch
9. “Shade Business”-PMD
10. “One Love” (1L aka V.I.C. & Godfather Don) Remix-Nas
11. “Rockafella”-Redman
12. “Constables”-O.C.
13. “Paystyle”-Too Short
14. “Vapors”-Biz Markie
15. “Love’s In Need”-BlackStreet
16. “Danger Zone”-Big L

The Source (Feb. ’94) “Fat Tape”

Track Listing

1. “Hip Hop vs. Rap”-KRS-One
2. “Method Man” (Remix)-Wu-Tang Clan
3. “Spontaneous” (Remix)-L.O.N.S. f. Rumpletilskinz
4. “Outta’ State”-Akinyele
5. “Swing It Over Here”-Erick Sermon
6. “A.F.D.”-Domino
7. “I Get Around” (Remix)-2Pac
8. “Lovely How I Let My Mind Flow”-De La Soul f. Biz Markie
9. “Gz & Hustlaz”-Snoop Doggy Dogg
10. “Electric Relaxation”-A.T.C.Q.
11. “On The Road” (Remix)-Jungle Brothers
12. “Darc Mind Inc.”-Legion Of D.U.M.E.
13. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell”-Nas

Editor’s Note:  If you notice, this Fat Tape only has 13 tracks…which is due to the exclusion of Positive K’s “Come To Butt-Head” which appeared on the “Beavis & Butt-Head” O.S.T..  Strangely enough, “Come To…” was actually a “bonus” cut was placed after Cher’s rendition of “I Got You Babe” near the album’s closing.  Besides, I couldn’t find “Come To Butt-Head” to save my life.  However, if you do indeed have this track, feel free to shoot me a link and I’ll re-up the archive with it included.

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Shelton March 12, 2008 at 3:32 pm

You’re a Nova fan too? We wrecked shop today…. yessir.

That Doo Wop joint was tough, I searched for it after reading your post. I had to play with it in Audacity though… sound quality was reallllllly poor.

nyps March 15, 2008 at 9:55 am

This might be a better quality rip of the Doo Wop track. I also threw in the remix of the Mister Voodo song – I don’t have the original. (I got both of these from the terrific old Vinyl Addicts blog.) Great job with this 90s stuff and thanks! I wish I could have helped with more…

40 versions March 24, 2008 at 7:45 am

“It’s Like That” might be “That’s How It Is” – on the Jason’s Lyric OST. (Which would also cover that Jayo Felony track you’re looking for.)

ben April 3, 2008 at 1:41 pm

how do you post a request, i would like black moons i got cha opin original version not the more famous remix, i cant find it anyware cheers

Jaz May 5, 2008 at 4:35 am

You are welcome :D

Comments on this entry are closed.