Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

West Coast Goodness Day 2: LBC Crew – Our City (Unreleased)

by Travis on August 6, 2008

I’m not the greatest person to share the knowledge on the west coast scene. I mean I got into it a bit from the late 80′s until the mid 90′s, but never got super deep into it and I bailed by ’95 when every other album from the west started sounding like a G Funk rip off. Therefore I probably don’t know all the details that others out there do, but I’ll supply what I can.

Yesterday, I posted up the long, lost Mista Grimm album, one which I had been looking for since….well since it did or didn’t come out. My man Fritz sent it to me and said he found it on a forum and he also shared a link for the forum. Well, most of the stuff was posted up by the same cat. After doing some more exploring, come to find out, this dude also has his own blog. Back 2 Da OG/Don’t Bite The Funk/ One Eight Seven is the name of the blog, which has a lot of good stuff, all west coast of course. So props go out to that blog and Jsta who runs it, because I’ll probably end up recycling some of the stuff found there this week. The unreleased stuff needs to be kept alive, it’s part of hip hop history.

Today, another great group to put in your ride and rollin’ down the boulevard. The LBC Crew was, well, obviously from the LBC. Made up of several fairly well known MC’s (especially if you were into the west coast sound) Tray Dee, Bad Azz, Lil C-Style and a couple other cats that I know I’m forgetting. They would sign with Snoop’s Doggystyle Records. The appeared on numerous movie soundtracks, most notably “A Thin Line Between Love & Hate” along with “The Show”. Probably their biggest hit was “Beware of my Crew” that made some noise. Personally, I was into the Dove Shack more, but LBC had some great tracks that would filter out to the masses as well.

They finished an album that reportedly was never released. Today, we have what claims to be that album. I’m not totally sold on the fact that this was the way the album was intended to be released. It’s only ten tracks long, and lots and lots of guest appearances. There is also rumors that the original was destroyed by Lil C-Style when he got in a dispute with Snoop over royalties. None the less, it’s still some great laid back summer vibes to bump in the trunk…..

LBC Crew – Our City (Doggystyle Records, 1996)

01 Beware Of My Crew (Remix)
02 Dippin’ In My Lo-Lo (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)
03 Get Fucked Up
04 I Will Smoke 2 Dat (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)
05 My Heat Goes Boom (Remix) (with Snoop Doggy Dogg and Tha Dogg Pound)
06 Party People (with Mack 10)
07 LBC Crew (with Warren G)
08 Floss’n (19th Street Compilation Version) (with Baby Girl)
09 Usual Suspects (with Snoop Doggy Dogg and Threat)
10 Lil’ Crip-A-Lot (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)

And for good measure, some more unreleased tracks from LBC. Once again, props goes out to Jsta and his West Coast Blog
The LBC Crew – Baby Come Home (UNRELEASED) (with Mz. So’ Sentrelle)
The LBC Crew – Beware Of My Crew (OG) (UNRELEASED) (with Roger Troutman)
The LBC Crew – Doggystyle 96′ (UNRELEASED) (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)
The LBC Crew – Get Up 2 Get Down (UNRELEASED)
The LBC Crew – Hit Rocks (UNRELEASED) (with DJ Pooh and Snoop Doggy Dogg)
The LBC Crew – Indo Blueberry (UNRELEASED) (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)
The LBC Crew – Intro 2 The Indo (Haven’t You Heard) (UNRELEASED) (with Snoop Doggy Dogg)
The LBC Crew — Wanna Be From DPG

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Comments on this entry are closed.