Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

Freddie Foxxx – Crazy Like a Foxxx (Fat Beats) 2008

by Travis on August 28, 2008

Is there anyone that emphasizes hardcore hip hop more than Freddie Foxxx? Forgot all that fake gangster shit that is being spewed on the radio airwaves these days, that shit is straight up garbage. If I want the raw, hardcore rhymes, from a prototypical hardcore rapper, I’ll listen to Freddie Foxxx. Freddie came on the scene in the late 80′s with his Freddie Foxxx Is Here album, that was released on MCA. This would be during a time that major labels such as MCA had no clue how to market hip hop (and they still don’t), and the album ended up flopping something serious (and in hind sight, it wasn’t that great of an album). In 1992, Freddie, now with Epic/Flavor Unit, submitted an album to the label, which was titled Crazy Like a Foxxx. At the time, Freddie was coming off a strong appearance on Boogie Down Production’s “Sex & Violence” and was a part of the Flavor Unit, lead by Sha-Money and Queen Latifah. The album would ultimately end up being shelved by the label after some lukewarm reviews in The Source. Crazy Like a Foxxx would find itself being leaked on the internet, with rather shitty quality (they were made from the promo copies) versions made their way around the internet as early as ’04. That was until just recently, when Fat Beats dropped a two disk version of Crazy Like a Foxxx, with disk one being the original commercial album and disk two being the demo version, which was largely produced by the DITC.

Disc One starts off the track, “Can’t Break Away”, which starts off an album which has an ominous dark mood to it and the track just sets the serve. It’s typical fanfare from the early 90′s, which is when the album was made and meant to be originally released. Freddie was never the most lyrical MC, but what he lacked in lyrical content, he made up for in delivery, style and package as his energy level was always sky high. The beat is suitable for for Freddie’s hard edged flow as he deluges into the ghetto anthem, complete with NY’s favorite way to do a hook, which included getting your homies into the studio and have them shout the chorus. Another banger that exemplified the NY flavor during those golden age years, is “Daddy Boot Knock”, which is a banger if I’ve ever heard one. Freddie was quick to tell you if you were fakin’ the funk, as he let loose and white rappers, female “tough guy” MC’s, and other topics such as “I’m the baddest”, which by now we’ve all heard a million times, but Freddie made that shit sound so rugged and hardcore, you are screaming along with him by the end of the three and half minutes. Disk two actually contains some different tracks than found on the retail version, with tracks like “Man Destroy’s Man” and “Pressure on the Brain”, give anyone purchasing this collection, their money’s worth. The standout track that will have people buzzing is the title track, “Crazy Like a Foxxx”, which Freddie goes at the Ultramagnetic MC boys for a line they dropped on “Yo Black” that went something like ““why would you put a Foxxx against an alligator”. Probably not a smart idea, whether it was on purpose or not, which is still under debate. On the track, Foxxx serves beat down pie to Moe Love, Ced Gee and Kool Keith. There are three versions of the track on the collection, with my favorite being on the demo disk.

Production wise, there was nothing mindblowing on the original album, just quality music. Lots of the cliched sounds from the day in age are found. Foxxx is one of those MC’s though, that you want to listen what he says, because more than likely, it’s going to be somthing outlandish, so production doesn’t need to overshine the tracks. Of course the true treats are found on the disk two, with the Diamond, Showbiz and Buckwild treats. “Call of the Wild”, which leads off disk two, is classic DITC. The dusty horns, and ill bassline brings the track to life as Foxxx brings one of his best performances between the two disks. “Click Click” features some hard drums that deliver a sinister bassline and gives images of creeping down the block in the dark, looking for either someone to blast, or a cypher to spit in. DITC was famous for horns, and tracks like “The Middle Man” contain those trademark horns. A funky sax sample has Foxxx baggin’ on brothers, who are whipped.

What makes this album work so well, at least for me, is the fact that the shit Freddie be sayin, isn’t just shit he is making up. You have reason to believe he’s either done what he is talking about, or would do it. There is not a fake bone in Freddie’s body. He is the epitmy of the hardcore New York hip hop to this day. While this may sound a bit dated by today’s standards, it’s also more “real” than 99% of the albums by today’s standards as well. It’s a nice snapshot of hip hop in the early 90′s and really a prime example of why most cats over the age of thirty claim hip hop was better and regulary start sentances with “back in my day….”

Bumpy Knuckles & Tupac keep it raw

The Song:

In the first single “Killa” from the mysteriously shelved 1994 album Crazy Like a Foxxx, we’re transported back in time to
a different era of hip-hop. Bumpy Knuckles and 2Pac’s rawness evoke a New York City where gang violence was at an all time high and many of Bumpy’s friends were in prison. There’s no mincing words in the track; Bumpy states, “If they wanna rumble with the Foxxx / Then they get shot.” The real treat of the track is 2Pac’s singular voice, still fresh after all these years.

Killa featuring 2Pac


1. Can’t Break Away
2. Crazy Like a Foxxx (Ultramagnetic dis)
3. Interlude
4. So Tough (video mix)
5. Daddy Boot Knock
6. Project Mice
7. Jailhouse Rock
8. Killa (feat. 2Pac)
9. Meet Some Skins
10. Interlude
11. Shotty in the Back
12. Interlude
13. Funk in yo Brain
14. Step (feat. Chuck D of Public Enemy)
15. Do What You Gotta Do
16. Pressure on the Brain
17. Rev Glock (skit)
18. Rev Glock
19. Crazy Like a Foxxx (alternate mix)
20. Amen

1993 Demo Version Produced by Showbiz, Lord Finesse, & Buckwild

1. Intro
2. Call of the Wild
3. Can’t Break Away
4. Click Click
5. 8 Bars to Catch a Body
6. Project Mice
7. Rev. Glock
8. Crazy Like a Foxxx
9. Man Destroys Man
10. Pressure on the Brain
11. Who is the Middle Man
12. Cook a Niggaz Ass (feat. Kool G Rap)

Crazy Like A Foxxx album preview

Freddie Foxxx’s MySpace page:

Fat Beats:

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Comments on this entry are closed.