Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

"Let's Talk About…..(my Ill Poetic(s) of '08)

by Eric on August 30, 2008

Hip-Hop lovers, the world over has been inundated by cynics who think they’re part of a dying art form. On the contrary, the members of Now On are leading a rebirth of the very fundamentals that defined Hip-Hop thirty years ago: originality, voice, culture and of course, entertainment. In fusing and confusing this elemental barometer, Now On emerges with a grimy freshness unseen or heard to date.

Consisting of emcees IX Lives (son of Larry “Squirrel” Demps of the fabulous Dramatics) and Jackson Perry formerly of Funktelligence, together with Haircut (LabTechs) of Athletic Mic League (AML), Now On is set to make their tenure in the music industry the very definition of “def.” Having already shared the stage with Eminem, Slum Village, The Roots, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Common, The Pharcyde, De La Soul and Little Brother to name a few – the members of Now On have felt the influence of Hip-Hop’s elite, and are prepared to stand among them. They have toured extensively throughout the U.S., Europe and Japan; have appeared on national television; have licensed songs for TV and film; and have reached combined CD sales of over 10,000 units.

After relocating from Michigan in 2005, the release of Now On’s debut full-length album “Eye Level” (peep the left sidebar, can’t believe I slept on this joint last year!!) combined with the unparalleled energy of their live show quickly made them a fixture in the thriving Los Angeles music scene. 2007 saw successful tours and buzz-worthy releases in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia, including their latest “Don’t Call It A Mixtape” (click to DL) hosted by the legendary DJ House Shoes.  This September, Now On will release their highly anticipated sophomore full-length titled “Tomorrow Already”. With the Lab Technicians production team at the helm, Now On has pulled themselves up by their lyrical moon-bootstraps to pump out the innovative, post-futuristic soul that has entertainment industry skeptics throwing their hands in the air, screaming “Live for the Now, On to the Future.” And take it from me, I’ve heard the promo for “Tomorrow..” and as much as I’ve love the Lab Techs’ production on Buff 1′s “There’s Only One”, the production on this album is just as, if not better, than the ridiculoid (thanks Dart!!) heaters that fuel Buff’s sophomore album (that Buff cat ain’t nothin’ to sneeze at on the M-I-C either). Peep Now On’s MySpace for more goodness. Trust me, after blaring this sh*t thru my headphones for the better part of the last two evenings, “Tomorrow Already” will go down as one of the most consistent, innovative releases of the year….don’t slumber!!!

Track Listing for “Tomorrow Already”
Coming September 30, 2008

01 HERE (Prod. by Haircut)
02 THE ANSWER (Prod. by 14KT)
03 ALL YOU EVER KNEW (Prod. by Astronote)
04 THIS WAY (Prod. by Haircut)
05 UNWIND (Prod. by Haircut)
06 THE A feat. Buff1 (Prod. by 14KT)
07 THE WILLOWS (Prod. by Haircut)
08 TOMORROW ALREADY (Prod. by Haircut) (click to Preview)
09 MARBLES (Prod. by Haircut)
10 CATAPULTS (Prod. by JakeOne)
11 TOUCH feat. Aloe Blacc (Prod. by Haircut)
12 REPRISE (Prod. by Vaughan T)
13 THE RETURN (Prod. by Haircut)

Related Posts with Thumbnails


er4se August 30, 2008 at 6:12 pm

that ass is bangin’ blow that shit up…

Dart_Adams August 30, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Wow, Eric. You beat me to it. I couldn’t find the Now On album cover. Now I have it AND Rapper Big Pooh’s thanks to you.

Check out my Monday post, you might enjoy it.


Comments on this entry are closed.