Previous post:

Next post:

Click HERE

Game Over

by BC on November 22, 2009

Back in 2000, I had just graduated from college and I was in this weird transitional phase with the music I was listening to. At this time hip-hop was all over the place, but I wasn’t really digging a lot of it (really starting around 1997 or so). Then I discovered independent hip-hop and I was reminded of why I liked hip-hop music to begin with.

At this time, I was snatching up anything I could find online from Masta Ace, who was, and had been, putting out a bunch of 12 inches. For the first time in my life, I had regular access to the internet, which I used to find out about a lot of releases that I had no idea about, since I was relegated to what I saw at Media Play or Best Buy.

I don’t remember how I found out about this LP, but basically, I saw that Ace was on this and I bought it. The concept is pretty cool. The search for the Yosumi game system (named after the label) and many of the beats use old video game samples. The best examples of this are in Super Brooklyn and Punch Out, which use Super Mario Bros. and Punch Out samples in the songs featuring the Cocoa Brovas (aka Smif N’ Wessun). There’s a mix of artists that you’ve heard of and a few that you’ve never heard of, or at least I haven’t heard of since. This LP also features the song Hellbound with Eminem and Ace, which was apparently a song that took a few verses that were lying around and put them together. Either way, it’s a nice song. Also, on here is Spread It Out, featuring Masta Ace over a sample of The Simpsons theme song.

For a while, Yosumi had a web site and listed Ace and Deacon the Villain from CunninLynguists as artists. They released a second Game Over compilation, and I believe they at least handled something to do with Ace’s Disposable Arts. Other than that, I’m not too familiar with what happened. I found a MySpace page and it looks like they release break beats.

1) Intro
2) Super Brokklyn (BQ Mix) – Cocoa Brovas & Mr. Cheeks
3) Que, Que – Tomorrow’s Weapons
4) Roll Wit Me – GHG
5) U R Who?
6) Who R U? – Illa Noize (J-Getm)
7) Splain to Him
8) Creep – Royal Flush, J-Mel, 151-Ron Bacardi, Rah Bump
9) Chica Bonita – JNJ Project
10) Jugga In Sink
11) Hellbound (H&H remix) – Eminem, J-Black and Masta Ace
12) Mamita – S.U.
13) Puff Harder – JNJ Project and Mista Cheeks
14) Newscast
15) Spread It Out – Masta Ace
16) 4-Tivity
17) Petrified – Dhark Citi
18) Smokin Trees – Groovy
19) Think Like Street – Godfather, Royal Flush and Rah Fese
20) You Can’t Take Me Out – Cocoa Brovas
21) Rumble
22) Punch Out – Cocoa Brovas, Xun Tsu and The Most Talented
23) Yun Yin
24) Game Over – J-Black, Jugga, Steele, Godfather and P Dap
25) Wrap It Up
26) Super Brooklyn – Cocoa Brovas

Related Posts with Thumbnails


DJSoulClap November 23, 2009 at 9:20 am

Yosumi was DJ Robs label. Nowadays the put out breaks for DJ's on wax, CD and even mp3. They got video game breaks, movie breaks, sitcom breaks and a lot more. Really cool stuff… DJ Rob is now running M3 with Masta Ace.

MORT November 23, 2009 at 10:28 am

I always thought this albums sucked major balls

Olskool4real November 23, 2009 at 3:27 pm

Wasn't there another Gameover compilation with Big Daddy Kane and a host of others on it?

BC November 23, 2009 at 3:35 pm

I thought they were still affiliated somehow from an interview I read, but wasn't sure. Thanks for the info Clap!

BC November 23, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Olskool – I think the second one had BDK and a few more known MCs. I have it around somewhere, so I'll try to get it up here one of these days.

BC November 24, 2009 at 3:27 am

Man, I liked it a lot when I got it. I still think it's good.

Jack March 9, 2010 at 5:02 pm

I've got a copy of this on wax, but it has a huge chunk out of one of the records. Such a shame.

Comments on this entry are closed.